Team

Prof. Dr. Holger Burckhart

Holger Burckhart received his doctoral degree at the University of Cologne in 1985. He finished his habilitation in 1997 with his work on Diskursethik - Diskursanthropologie - Diskurspädagogik. Since October 2009 he has been rector of the University of Siegen. Since 2007 he has been a board member, and since May 2008 chairman, of the accreditation agency AQAS. His special interest of research in practical philsophy lies in general philosophy of science, transcendental philosophy, philosophy of language and the philosophical basis of educational theory concerning special educational issues. Holger Burckhart is a board member of the Hans Jonas-Zentrum in Berlin and co-editor of the Kritische Hans Jonas Werkausgabe. As a guest lecturer, he has visited the University of Bergen in Norway, as well as various Japanese (Tokyo, Sapporo, Osaka) and Chinese (Beijing, Jinan, Shanghai, Hong Kong) universities.

Prof. Dr. Michael Bongardt

Michael Bongardt, born 1959, philosopher and catholic theologian. He was Professor and member of the Institute of Philosophy at Freie Universität Berlin from 2000-2016. Since April 2016 he is Professor and vice rector at the University of Siegen. His research focus concerns the periphery of philosophy, theology and social science including the works of S. Kierkegaard, E. Cassirer, H. Jonas and J. Habermas. He is one of the editors of the complete critical edition of Hans Jonas’ works (13 volumes).

 

PD Dr. Jürgen Nielsen-Sikora

Jürgen Nielsen-Sikora studied philosophy, pedagogy, history and psychology at University of Cologne and the Freie Universität Berlin and graduated in 1999. In 2002, he received his doctoral degree in philosophy under Holger Burckhart. He had a postgraduate scholarship from the German federal state North Rhine-Westphalia (2000-2002) and was research assistant at University of Cologne at the department for Didactics of History and History of European Integration (2000-2003), where he became academic council in 2009.  Since he had finished his habilitation at University of Hildesheim under Michael Gehler in 2011, he has been private lecturer there. In 2012, he switched to the Konrad Adenauer Foundation. In the central department Research Section/Archive for Christian Democratic Politics, he led the department for contemporary history. In December 2014, he changed to the University of Siegen and is responsible for the Hans Jonas institute, which is situated there. Nielsen-Sikora received multiple awards from the Young Academy of the Academy of Sciences Berlin-Brandenburg as well as from the Salzburg University Weeks.

Petr Frantik

Petr Frantik graduated in special education at the University of Cologne in 2005. Between 2005 and 2009 he worked as a teacher for children with learning difficulties. Additionally, he conceptualised and implemented a program at some selected special needs schools to help graduates to manage their apprenticeship (2007-2009). Since 2009, he teaches at the University of Cologne. His main topics are intercultural education and ethics in rehabilitation sciences. In 2013 he worked as an academic assistant in the research project Die Gelingensbedinungen von inklusivem Unterricht/ The Conditions of successful inclusive Education (University of Cologne & TU Dresden). In his dissertation (work in progress) he examines teaching methods for the development of ethical reasoning and intercultural competences of schoolchildren.

Alumni

Prof. Dr. John-Stewart Gordon

John-Stewart Gordon, MA in philosophy and history from the University of Konstanz (2001) and Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Göttingen (2005), Germany. He is full professor at Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas, Lithuania. From 2010-2016, he was Co-director of the Hans Jonas-Institute at the University of Siegen, Germany. Furthermore, he is member of the board of Bioethics since 2007 and has been area-editor and board member of the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2007-2014). He had written and edited several books in the context of practical philosophy and published peer-reviewed articles and special issues at international leading journals and encyclopaedias including Bioethics, Ethical Theory and Moral Practice, Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal, The Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics, Baltic Journal of Law & Politics, Ethical Perspectives, Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy and Oxford Bibliographies Online Philosophy. He taught philosophy and bioethics at the University of Tübingen (Germany), Ruhr-University Bochum (Germany), Duisburg-Essen University (Germany), Queen's University in Kingston (Canada), Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas (Lithuania) and the University of Cologne (Germany).

 

For further information please visit:
www.johnstgordon.com

Team

Prof. Dr. Holger Burckhart

Holger Burckhart wurde 1985 an der Universität zu Köln promoviert. Seine Habilitation zum Thema Diskursethik – Diskursanthropologie – Diskurspädagogik erfolgte 1997. Seit 2007 ist er Vorstandsmitglied, seit Mai 2008 Vorsitzender des Vorstands der AQAS. Seit Oktober 2009 ist er Rektor der Universität Siegen. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der Praktischen Philosophie, speziell in der allgemeinen Wissenschaftsphilosophie, Transzendentalphilosophie, Sprachphilosophie und den philosophische Grundlagen der Pädagogik unter Berücksichtigung sonderpädagogischer Fragestellungen. Holger Burckhart ist Vorstandsmitglied des Hans Jonas Zentrum in Berlin und Mitherausgeber der Kritischen Hans Jonas Werkausgabe. Als Gastdozent lehrte er an der Universität Bergen in Norwegen sowie an diversen japanischen (Tokio, Sapporo, Osaka) und chinesischen (Peking, Jinan, Shanghai, Hong Kong) Universitäten.

 

 

 

 

Prof. Dr. Michael Bongardt

Michael Bongardt, geboren 1959, ist Philosoph und katholischer Theologe. In den Jahren 2000 bis 2016 war er Professor und Mitglied des Instituts für Philosophie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Seit April 2016 ist er Professor und Prorektor für Studium, Lehre und Lehrerbildung an der Universität Siegen. Sein Forschungs-schwerpunkt umfasst die Schnittstelle der Bereiche von Philosophie, Theologie und Sozialwissenschaften, wobei insbesondere die Werke von S. Kierkegaard, E. Cassirer, H. Jonas und J. Habermas berücksichtigt werden. Michael Bongardt ist einer der Hauptherausgeber der Kritischen Gesamtedition der Werke von Hans Jonas (13 Bände).

 

 

 

 

 

 

PD Dr. Jürgen Nielsen-Sikora

Jürgen Nielsen-Sikora studierte von 1995 bis 1999 an der Universität zu Köln und Freien Universität Berlin Philosophie, Pädagogik, Geschichte und Psychologie und schloss als Diplom-Pädagoge ab. 2002 wurde er bei Holger Burckhart im Fach Philosophie promoviert. Er war von 2000 bis 2002 Stipendiat der Graduiertenförderung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen. Von 2000 bis 2003 war er Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft an der Universität zu Köln, im Anschluss Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Abteilung für Didaktik der Geschichte und Geschichte der Europäischen Integration; 2009 wurde er dort Akademischer Rat. Seit seiner Habilitation 2011 bei Michael Gehler an der Universität Hildesheim ist er dort Privatdozent. Im Jahr 2012 wechselte er zur Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. In der Hauptabteilung Wissenschaftliche Dienste/Archiv für Christlich-Demokratische Politik leitete er dort die Abteilung Zeitgeschichte. Im Dezember 2014 wechselte er an die Universität Siegen und und ist dort am Lehrstuhl für Bildungsphilosophie tätig.

Nielsen-Sikora wurde mehrfach von der Jungen Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften wie auch von den Salzburger Hochschulwochen ausgezeichnet.

 

 

 

 Petr Frantik

Petr Frantik machte seinen Abschluss in Sonderpädagogik (1. Staatsexamen) an der Universität zu Köln 2005. Zwischen 2005 und 2009 arbeitete er als Lehrer für SchülerInnen mit dem Förderschwerpunkt Lernen (Erwerb des 2. Staatsexamens 2007). Zusätzlich konzipierte und implementierte er ein Projekt an ausgewählten Förderschulen, das SchulabgängerInnen bei der Bewältigung ihrer Ausbildung unterstützte. Seit 2009 ist er Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität zu Köln. Seine Themenschwerpunkte sind Interkulturelle Didaktik und Ethik in den Rehabilitationswissenschaften. 2013 arbeitete er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in dem Forschungsprojekt Die Gelingensbedingungen von Inklusivem Unterricht (Universität zu Köln & TU Dresden). In seiner Dissertation untersucht er derzeit didaktische Methoden zur Förderung von ethischen Argumentationsfähigkeiten und interkulturellen Kompetenzen bei Schulkindern.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ehemalige

Prof. Dr. John-Stewart Gordon

John-Stewart Gordon erlangte seinen MA in Philosophie und Geschichte in Konstanz und wurde 2005 an der Universität Göttingen im Fach Philosophie promoviert. Er war Adjunct Assistant Professor (2009) und Gastprofessor an der Queen’s Universität in Kingston, Kanada (2009-10) und Gastprofessor für Philosophie an der Vytautas Magnus Universität in Kaunas, Litauen (2012-2015). Seit 2010 ist er W1-Professor für Anthropologie und Ethik in den Rehabilitationswissenschaften mit besonderer Berücksichtigung von Menschen mit Behinderung sowie Professor für Philosophie an der Vytautas Magnus Universität in Kaunas, Litauen (seit 2015). Ferner war er Kodirektor des Hans-Jonas Instituts an der Universität Siegen (2010-2016), darüber hinaus Mitglied im wissenschaftlichen Beirat der Zeitschrift Bioethics und war Sektionsleiter für Bioethik (2007-2014) und stellvertretender Sektionsleiter für Ethik (2010-2014) in der Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy. John-Stewart Gordon ist Autor und Herausgeber zahlreicher Bücher im Bereich der Praktischen Philosophie und publiziert in international führenden Zeitschriften, Sammelbänden und Enzyklopädien wie z.B. Bioethics, Ethical Theory and Moral Practice, Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal, The Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics, Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy und Oxford Bibliographies Online Philosophy. Er lehrte an der Universität Tübingen, der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, der Universität Duisburg-Essen und der Universität zu Köln (Deutschland) sowie an der Queen’s Universität Kingston (Kanada) und der Vytautas Magnus Universität in Kaunas (Litauen).